Percorso:ANSA > Nuova Europa > News > Journalism: courageous reporters awarded at XII SEEMF

Journalism: courageous reporters awarded at XII SEEMF

Serbians and bosnian win Seemo Award. Honor to murdered Kuciak

16 November, 12:44
(ANSA) - TIRANA, NOVEMBER 16 - The journalists Stevan Dojinovi and Dragana Peco (Serbia) and Nino Bilajac (Bosnia and Herzegovina) win CEI SEEMO Award for Outstanding Merits in Investigative Journalism 2018, as announced during XII SEEMF (South East Europe Media Forum) by Central European Initiative (CEI) and the South East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO), in special partnership with the Media Program South East Europe of Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS).

Stevan Dojinovi and Dragana Peco work for the investigative portal KRIK and the Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP). They will receive this award for their contribution to the investigative journalism in Serbia and for the impact of their courageous stories on the society in a challenging environment. They have been working together on the Paradise Papers files and for this effort, they received high recognition both at national and international level. They often work under dangerous and unsafe conditions and are both threatened and under pressure, as Seemf organization said.

Nino Bilajac works for the Center for Investigative Reporting (CIN). He has been doing complex investigative stories, covering financial misuse in public procurement and public funds. This award is meant to acknowledge his courageous reporting and innovative ways of telling complex stories. Along with videos, photos and graphics, he has introduced a new form of investigative reporting - a comic that combines the photos of the story with quotes from interviews. During his work, he faces many challenges including harassment and death threats.

A Special Mention has been assigned to kos Keller-Alánt from Hungary, for his independent work in investigative journalism and in-depth professional reporting. He has written many important and groundbreaking stories on the transformation of the media system in Hungary and on complicated corruption cases.

The jury has also decided to honour the memory of the investigative journalist Ján Kuciak (Slovakia), murdered last February, with a special mention. Moreover, a special diploma will be presented to the investigative journalist Olivera Laki (Montenegro) shot and injured in May this year. The independent international jury is formed by journalists from different countries as Italy and West Balkans ones. The overall Award coordination was managed by Barbara Fabro (CEI) and Oliver Vujovic (SEEMO). (ANSA).

© Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved