Percorso:ANSA > Nuova Europa > Latvia > Russia expels EU diplomats over 'solidarity' with Czechs

Russia expels EU diplomats over 'solidarity' with Czechs

They must leave the country within seven days

28 April, 12:43
(ANSA-AFP) - MOSCOW, APR 28 - Moscow on Wednesday expelled seven European diplomats after their countries ordered Russian diplomats to leave in solidarity with the Czech Republic, which is engulfed in a diplomatic row with Russia. The Czech government this month accused Russian secret services of being behind a deadly explosion at an arms depot in eastern Czech Republic in 2014. It expelled a number of Russian diplomats over the allegations, with Slovakia and the Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania following suit in solidarity. Russia's foreign ministry on Tuesday said in a statement that a total of four diplomats from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have been declared "persona non grata" and must leave the country within seven days. It added that the Baltic states "continue to conduct an openly hostile course towards our country, in this case hiding behind pseudosolidarity with the indiscriminate actions of the Czech Republic towards Russia". In a separate statement, the ministry also announced the expulsion of three Slovak diplomats, who must leave by May 5, and accused Bratislava of "false solidarity" with Prague. (ANSA-AFP).

© Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved