> ANSA English > News

Five EU members 'blocking aid for Emilia quake'

670 mln euros earmarked from solidarity fund

09 November, 13:33
Five EU members 'blocking aid for Emilia quake' (ANSA) - Brussels, November 9 - Five European Union members - Germany, Netherlands, Finland, Sweden and Britain - are blocking aid to Emilia Romagna for reconstrcution after this year's devastating earthquake, EU sources said Friday on the sidelines of a budget meeting.

The five are reportedly reluctant to release 670 million euros from the EU's solidarity fund earmarked to compensate Italy for the quake damage.

The May 20 and May 29 quakes killed 27 people, destroyed and damaged many historic buildings and artworks and left the region's economy on its knees.