Percorso:ANSA > Nuova Europa > Czech Republic > Visegrad countries will not support Weber for EC president

Visegrad countries will not support Weber for EC president

Sharing Orban's view

14 June, 13:11
(ANSA) - BUDAPEST, JUNE 14 - The four Visegrad countries (Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Hungary) will not support Manfred Weber for President of the European Commission, sharing the views expressed by Viktor Orban, Hungarian premier, and leader of Fidesz, party which was ousted by the EPP. The decision was made at an informal meeting held yesterday in Budapest. The meeting, which was organized by Czech Prime Minister Andrej Babis, took place in the office of Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban, at the Castle of Buda, and was attended by Peter Pellegrini (Slovakia) and Mateusz Morawiecki (Poland). According to Nepszava daily newspaper, the four agreed to support Maros Sefcovic, Slovak commissioner, for the position of EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs, and the Polish Krzysztof Szczerski, chief of staff of the Polish president, a member of the ruling Pis party. (ANSA).

© Copyright ANSA - All rights reserved